Visit to the Indianapolis Art Museum

The Indianapolis Art Museum (IMA) holds a special place in my heart because it’s the first art museum I visited. IMA’s collection boasts quite a few extremely vivid, very romantic paintings that really drew me in when I was ten and held very idealized notions about life. Click to the present and when I visited the museum in December, it was with a much more critical eye as I attempted to tune into the architecture, visitor responses and actions, and tour guide behavior, in an effort to assimilate my graduate school experience with my first-ever museum experience. IMA is a place to beat with their exemplary deaccession database that I wrote about in a previous post, and a beta site, the Dashboard, which tracks the museum’s performance on various levels. Besides boasting an incredible collection and architecture, the museum attempts (and succeeds!) at many levels to hold themselves accountable to their constituency. This is something I have learned and cling to as best practice for museums.

Leave a Reply

